Home General Information Court Information Online Index Credit Card Payment Frequently Asked Questions Virtual Courthouse Guided Tours Contact Us
Adoption
Appeals
Civil Case
Criminal Case
Domestic Violence  [image]
Family Law Facilitator
Fees and Forms
Glossary of Terms and Legal Dictionary
Grand Jury
Juvenile Court
Landlord/Tenant/Unlawful Detainer
Local Rules
Mediation
Self Help Resources
Small Claims
Traffic Court
Trial Jury Scams
Adoptions Mediation
Appeals Probate
Business License Property Taxes
Civil Case Records
Collection Unit Small Claims
Juvenile Court Traffic Court
Marriage Trial Jury
Guided Tour
Virtual Tour
Online Tour
Photo Gallery
Court Etiquette
Former Judges

 

Services for Victims

Batterer Intervention Program

Getting Help Right Now

You can find free and low-cost help in domestic violence cases, hotlines and other resources, resources to help children and teens, and guides to help you apply for a restraining order or respond to a request for a restraining order.

Warning: An abuser can tell what Internet sites you have visited on your computer. The safest places to find information on the Internet are at a local library or a friend's house. There may be other ways to protect your safety on the Internet. Learn more at:

http://www.abanet.org/domviol/internet.html.


Services for Victims of Domestic Violence

National Domestic Violence Hotline

http://www.ndvh.org/

800-799-7233 or 800-799-SAFE or 800-787-3224 (TDD)

The National Domestic Violence Hotline links individuals to sources of help in their areas through a nationwide data base that contains detailed information on domestic violence shelters, other emergency shelters, legal advocacy and assistance programs, and social service programs.

The hotline provides referrals in English or Spanish 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The hotline also has interpreters available for an additional 139 languages. The hotline can be called toll-free by phone from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

California Department of Health Services Family Violence Referral Directory

http://www.dhs.ca.gov/EPIC/dvrefer/default.htm

This page lists county-specific family violence resources, including women’s shelters, domestic violence programs, victim/witness programs, counseling services for victims of domestic violence, and crisis hotlines. You can view a listing for your area by clicking on the appropriate county link.

Top


Batterer Intervention Program Information

California Department of Health Services Family Violence Referral Directory

http://www.dhs.ca.gov/EPIC/dvrefer/default.htm

This page lists county-specific services for batterers. You can view a listing for your area by clicking on the appropriate county link. NOTE: If you need an "approved" batterers’ program, contact your county probation department for a list of such programs. Click here to find an address and telephone number for your county probation department.

Top


Getting Help Right Now
    (Emergency Protective Order)

If you need help right now, you should call a local law enforcement agency ("911"), a domestic violence shelter, or the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 800-799-7233, 800-799-SAFE, or 800-787-3224 (TDD).

A police officer responding to a domestic violence incident can call a judge (anytime, day or night) and ask for an emergency protective order that goes into effect immediately. An emergency protective order lasts for up to seven days. The emergency protective order can make the abusive person leave the home and keep that person away from you and your children, for five to seven days.

Since you need a police officer's assistance to get an emergency protective order, it is important to describe to him or her the abuser's actions and why you are afraid.

Top


 

 

Superior Court of California, County of Glenn © 2009