Home General Information Court Information Online Index Credit Card Payment Frequently Asked Questions Virtual Courthouse Guided Tours Contact Us
Adoption
Appeals
Civil Case
Criminal Case [image]
Domestic Violence
Family Law Facilitator
Fees and Forms
Glossary of Terms and Legal Dictionary
Grand Jury
Juvenile Court
Landlord/Tenant/Unlawful Detainer
Local Rules
Mediation
Self Help Resources
Small Claims
Traffic Court
Adoptions Mediation
Appeals Probate
Business License Property Taxes
Civil Case Records
Collection Unit Small Claims
Juvenile Court Traffic Court
Marriage Trial Jury
Guided Tour
Virtual Tour
Online Tour
Photo Gallery
Court Etiquette
Former Judges
Criminal Case [image]

 

Arraignment: Your first appearance in court is for the arraignment. You will be informed of the charges filed against you and asked by the judge if you understand these charges. A ‘yes’ answer means you understand what charges have been filed, not that you are guilty of these charges, simply that you understand what the charges are and what they mean.

If you do not have an attorney and cannot afford to hire one, you may ask the Court to appoint one for you at your arraignment. If you plead not guilty, you will be given another date and time for a pre-trial conference. Before your next court date, you will have met with your attorney and your attorney will return to court with you.

You may enter one of the following pleas

  • Guilty
  • Not Guilty
  • No Contest
  • Not Guilty By Reason of Insanity

If you plead not guilty, your case will be set for trial (court or jury) for a later date. If you plead guilty or no contest, your case will be sent to probation for a pre-sentence report.

Failure to Appear: If you have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony and you do not appear on your court date, a bench warrant will be issued for your arrest. If a bench warrant is issued, you need to report to the court for felony/misdemeanor warrant surrender (call for day and time), or turn yourself into local law enforcement.

Court Collections: If you enter a plea of guilty or no contest and are ordered to pay a fine and choose to make payments there will be an administration fee of $35 added. Fine payments can be made the clerk’s office on the first floor of courthouse room. The office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and is ope~during the lunch hour. The Orland office is located at 821 South Street in Orland. You can make checks payable toSuperior Court of California, County of Glenn. Mail payments toSuperior Court of California, County of Glenn, 526 W. Sycamore St., Willows, CA 95988. Current and delinquent fine payments can be made a both courthouse locations. However, if your account has been referred to a collection agency, payments must be made directly through them.

Public Defender: The Public Defender may be appointed to represent defendants involved in a criminal case who cannot afford to hire an attorney. Eligibility is determined by established financial guidelines. The Court appoints the Public Defender.

District Attorney: The District Attorney’s Office represents the People of Glenn County and is responsible for prosecuting criminal cases in Court. The Office of the District Attorney is located at 540 w. Sycamore St., Willows, CA 95988 and can be reached at (530) 934-6525.
 

Glenn Superior Court
2011 Sentencing Guidelines
Business & Professions
4140 BP Possession of needle M $314 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. Court Probation (CP) -search & test
25658(a) BP Sell to minor M $4,000 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - loss of license
25661 BP False ID M $2,000 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - loss of license
25662 BP Minor in Possession
1st Offense
M $1,000 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - loss of license
25662 BP Minor in Possession
2nd Offense
M $2000 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - loss of license
Health & Safety
11357(b) HS Possession of Marijuana I $400 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - Search and Test
11357(c) HS Possession of Marijuana I $600 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - Search and Test
11364 HS Possession of Paraphernalia M $314 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP - Search and Test
11550(a) HS Under Influence M $400 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. Prop 36 or 90 days - Drug Registration
Penal Code
148(a) PC Resisting Arrest M $600 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - plus jail if violent conduct
148.9 PC False Information M $600 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP
166.4 PC Violating Court Order M $600 $100 $30 $40 18 mos. CP
240/242 PC Battery M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Firearms Registration
243(e)(1) PC Battery - Domestic Violence M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - 1 yr. Treatment -Firearms Restriction -Protective Order
272 PC Contrib. to Delinq of Minor M $600 $100 $40 3 yrs. CP
273a PC Child Endangerment M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - 1 yr. Treatment - Protective Order
273.5 PC Injury on Spouse M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP 1 yr. Treatment Program Firearm Restriction
273.6 PC Violating Court Order M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP 1 yr. Treatment Program Firearm Restriction
415 PC Disturbing the Peace M $200 $100 $30 $40 12 mos. CP
417(a)(1) PC Brandish Weapon M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Firearms Registration
417(a)(2) PC Brandish Gun M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Firearms Registration
488/490.5 PC Petty Theft M $400 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - 1 Day County Jail
496 PC Possession Stolen Property M $800 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - up to 30 Days in County Jail (CJ)
594(a) PC Vandalism M $600 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP -Loss of license
602(l) PC Trespass M $600 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP
647(f) PC Drunk in Public M $400 $100 $30 $40 12 mos. CP - time served
853.7 PC Failure to Appear M $400 $100 $30 $40 12 mos CP
12020 PC Concealed Weapon M $400 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Search - Firearms Restriction - Loss of Weapon
12025 PC Concealed Gun M $2,000 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Search - Firearms Restriction - Loss of Weapon
12031 PC Loaded Gun M $2,000 $100 $30 $40 3 yrs. CP - Loss of Weapon
Vehicle Code
31 VC False Information M $400 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
2800.1(a,b) VC Evading a Peace Officer M $2,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
2800.2(a) VC Evading a Peace Officer-Reckless Driving M $4,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
2800.3(a) VC Evading a Peace Officer-Causing Injury M $20,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
4000(a)(1) VC Registration I $200 $35 $4 $40 $25 w/Proof of Correction
4462.5 VC False Registration M $600 $100 $30 $4 $40 no Probation
5200 VC No front plate I $114 $35 $4 $40 $25 w/Proof of Correction
12500(a) VC Unlicensed M $400 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
14601.1(a) VC Suspended License 1st Offense M $1,200 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP
Suspended License 2nd Offense M $1,314 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - 5 Days CJ
Suspended License 3rd Offense M $1,400 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - 10 Days CJ
Suspended License 4th Offense M $1,514 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - 10 Days CJ
14601.2(a) VC Suspended/ Revoked License-1st Offense $2,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 10 Days CJ-3 yrs CP - IID
Suspended/ Revoked License-2nd Offense M $2,114 $100 $30 $4 $40 30 Days CJ-3 yrs CP - IID
Suspended/ Revoked License-3rd Offense M $2,200 $100 $30 $4 $40 120 Days CJ-3 yrs CP - IID
Suspended/ Revoked License-4th Offense M $2,314 $100 $30 $4 $40 120 Days CJ-3 yrs CP - IID
14601.3(a) VC Habitual Traffic Offender
Habitual Traffic Offender 1st Offense M $4,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 3yrs CP + 30 days CJ
Habitual Traffic Offender 2nd Offense M $4,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP + 180 days CJ
14601(a) VC Negligent Operator (pts) M $1,204 $100 $30 $4 $40 3yrs CP
14601.5(a) VC Admin per se
Admin per se 1st Offense M $2,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs CP - 5 Days CJ
Admin per se 2nd Offense M $2,114 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs CP - 10 Days CJ
Admin per se 3rd Offense M $2,200 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs CP - 30 Days CJ
20001(a) VC Hit/Run w/Injury M $4,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - Restitution
20002(a) VC Hit/Run w/Property Damage M $1,200 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - Restitution
21200.5 VC DUI on Bicycle M $600 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
23103(a)(b) VC Reckless M $594 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
23103/23103.5 VC Wet Reckless M $600 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - 1st Offense DUI Cases
23109(a) VC Speed Contest M $1,440 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP - 1 day County jail
23109(b) VC Speed Exhibition M $400 $100 $30 $4 $40 3 yrs. CP
23140 VC Minor (under 21) driving w/ a BAC of .05 or greater I $400 $35 $4 $40 Loss of License
23152
(a,c,b)
VC DUI 1st Offense-Alcohol/Drugs M $1,560 $100 $30 $4 $40 DMV Action on License DUI + 48 hrs or Restricted License
DUI 2nd Offense M $1,800 $100 $30 $4 $40 10 Days CJ + SB38 - DMV Action on License
DUI 3rd Offense M $2,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 120 days CJ + I.I.D. - 4 YRS. CDL Revocation
23577 VC Refusal
VC Refusal 1st Offense Add 2 days
VC Refusal 2nd Offense Add 4 days
VC Refusal 3rd Offense Add 10 days
23578 VC High BAC (.20)
VC High BAC (.20) 1st Offense Add 4 days
VC High BAC (.20) 2nd Offense Add 5 days
VC High BAC (.20) 3rd Offense Add 10 days
27315(d) VC Seatbelt I $80 $35 $4 $40
27360 VC Child Safety Seat I $400 $35 $4 $40
27803 VC Motorcycle Helmet I $114 $35 $4 $40
34506 VC Log Book Violation M $2,000 $100 $30 $4 $40 18 mos. CP
40508(a)
VC
Failure to Appear
M
$200
$100
$30
$4
$40
12 mos CP
40508(b) VC Failure to Pay Fine M $200 $100 $30 $4 $40 12 mos. CP
Fish and Game
7145(a)
FG
No license
I
$400
$35
$40
$90 with Proof of Correction
2001 FG Unlawful possession after season M $800 $100 $30 $40 +$15 pursuant to §12021 FG
Dog Citations
6.04.120 GC Dog Running at Large I $93 $35 $40
6.04.210 GC Unvaccinated dog I $93 $35 $40 $25 w/Proof of Correction
6.04.020 GC Unlicensed dog I $93 $35 $40 $25 w/Proof of Correction

Top

 

Superior Court of California, County of Glenn © 2009